Welcome to UJOSS

The Union of Journalists of South Sudan is a society made up of journalists that covers the country of South Sudan.

About Us

U-JOSS IS A JOURNALIST COMMUNITY

The Union of Journalists of South Sudan, (UJOSS) is a registered non-profit legal entity in South Sudan. It was founded in 2004 with the aim of protecting journalists, media freedom and ethical standards, improving working conditions for journalists including welfare.

thin

Together we deliver news.

Members of UJOSS work across the media industry as reporters, freelancers, photographers, radio and TV presenters among others. UJOSS has associate members who are editors, sub-editors, copy editors, professors and lecturers of Mass Communication at various learning institutions. UJOSS is affiliated to South Sudan Workers Trade Union Federation.

Our Vision

Protecting rights of journalists, free and responsible media.

Our Mission

Work for a safe environment for journalists, where their welfare, interests, rights are protected.

Our Core Values

Our core values guide every member in their journey of delivering news to the people of South Sudan.

Professionalism.

Team work

Participatory Leadership

Respect for diversity

Dialogue as a means to resolve conflicts

Respect for rights and privileges of journalists

WELCOME

THE SECRETARIAT

The Union of Journalists of South Sudan is managed by a Constitution. The Constitution provides for election of the President, the Secretary General and the Treasury. The three elected officials then consult among themselves and appoint a National Executive Committee, which manages the day-to-day activities of UJOSS. UJOSS has branch offices in the ten states of South Sudan. Each branch office is headed by state coordinator who has a team and the coordinator reports to the Secretary General in the headquarters in Juba Team Member at the headquarters from 2021

The Executive

Oyet Patrick Charles

UJOSS PRESIDENT

oyet@u-joss.org

Ajak Ater Gar

VICE-PRESIDENT

ajak@u-joss.org

Majak Kuany Alier

SECRETARY GENERAL

majak@u-joss.org

Seba Martin

DEPUTY SECRETARY GENERAL

seba@u-joss.org

Yangi Justin

TREASURER

Yangi@u-joss.org

John Agok

DEPUTY TREASURER

agok@u-joss.org

George Ruot

ORGANIZING SECRETARY

ruot@u-joss.org

Nema Juma

GENDER SECRETARY

nema@u-joss.org

Rose Keji

DEPUTY ORGANIZING SECRETARY

rose@u-joss.org

Yol Anthony

DEPUTY GENDER SECRETARY

yol@u-joss.org

Tapeng Michael

COMMUNICATIONS SECRETARY

tapeng@u-joss.org

Ibrahim Awol

DEPUTY COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER

ibrahim@u-joss.org

John Aciek

MEMBER SUPPORTING TREASURY

aciek@u-joss.org